FPS Latest News

PUBG Nearly Hits 2 Million Players and Leaderboard Rest Incoming

PlayerUnknown's Battlegrounds

PUBG is getting too big for its own good.

PlayerUnknown’s Battlegrounds developer BlueHole might still be upset over Fortnite’s free to play Battle Royale, but that hasn’t stopped PUBG from growing. Over the weekend, Steam charts revealed that PUBG almost hit two million concurrent players online at once, the official numbers coming in at 1.96 million. Over the last 30 days, however, PUBG peaked at 1.98 million. As the game continues to obliterate records some thought wasn’t possible, you have to wonder… how long can PUBG keep this up?

PUBG

To give some perspective, the next closest title was DOTA 2, which pulled in just over 700,000 players. In addition, on Sunday 16.3 million players logged into Steam, 12% of that player base was playing PUBG. With the ever-increasing popularity of PUBG, it was only a matter of time before BlueHole would try to take the game to another platform, we already know PUBG will be coming to Xbox One later this year(hopefully), but BlueHole has recently been speaking to Sony about potentially bringing the game to PS4 as well.

In other PUBG news, the competitive ladder will be shut down temporarily due to “concurrent users increasing rapidly.” The ladder and season reset were supposed to happen tomorrow in an effort to keep things interesting, but the devs worried that a simple reset wouldn’t be stable. Alternatively, the devs decided to turn off the ladder today, and turn it back on next week after some server maintenance. BlueHole did offer an explanation and apologie in a Steam thread along with a schedule detailing when the new season will start.

  • Current leaderboards season ends: October 10 at 11:00 KST / 04:00 CEST / October 9th at 19:00 PDT
  • New leaderboard season begins: October 17 at 11:00 KST / 04:00 CEST / October 16th at 19:00 PDT

To answer your question, yes you can still play the game, but your stats won’t be recorded. Additionally, there will be some server maintenance between now and October 17th.

What do you think about seasonal ladders? Were you one of the nearly two million players? Let us know, join us on Discord, on our Facebook page, or Twitter.

About the author

Reginald "Blue_Dragon" Eyre

I'm 18 and A freshmen in College. When I'm not writing I'm doing school work or playing video games on my Xbox one, or PC.

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment